top of page
Jean-SebastienVallee-TamPhotography-9.jp

Jean-Sébastien Vallée

Chef

Jean-Sébastien Vallée annonce la saison 23.24 du Choeur Mendelssohn de Toronto

438238588_938056681653885_180469997408366902_n.jpg

"La chant choral est quelque chose qui touche le cœur de notre humanité, et je suis ravi de présenter une saison 23/24 audacieuse et ambitieuse qui dépeint les multiples facettes de notre expérience humaine. Des chefs-d'œuvre qui ont captivé le public depuis des générations aux œuvres nouvellement composées, de la grandeur de la salle Roy Thomson à l'intimité de la salle Jeanne Lamon, je vous invite à entendre la passion!"

Jean-Sébastien Vallée

Directeur artistique | Toronto Mendelssohn Choir

À propos

Jean-SebastienVallee-TamPhotography-8.jpg

 

Jean-Sébastien Vallée est un chef, pédagogue et chercheur canadien-américain renommé pour son expertise dans les répertoires vocaux, chorals et orchestraux. Avec une carrière illustre qui s'étend sur plusieurs décennies, Maestro Vallée a dirigé de nombreux ensembles en Amérique du Nord, en Europe et en Asie, et a préparé des choeurs pour certains des orchestres les plus prestigieux du monde, notamment l'Orchestre symphonique de Toronto, l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts d'Ottawa et l'Orchestre symphonique de Chicago.

Actuellement directeur artistique du Choeur Mendelssohn de Toronto et professeur agrégé de musique, directeur des études chorales et coordinateur de la division des ensembles et de la direction à la Schulich School of Music de l'Université McGill, Maestro Vallée est un chef et un pédagogue en grande demande. Il a précédemment été directeur des études chorales à l'Université d'État de Californie à Los Angeles et à l'Université de Redlands.

En plus de son intérêt pour le chant choral, l’opéra et le répertoire orchestral, Jean-Sébastien est un défenseur de la musique contemporaine; il commande régulièrement des œuvres de jeunes compositeurs et présente les répertoires peu joués et chantés. Jean-Sébastien a présenté ses recherches lors de plusieurs conférences nationales et internationales, notamment les conventions de l'American Choral Directors Association, le Festival 500 à Terre-Neuve, la conférence de la National Collegiate Choral Organization, Podium — la convention nationale de Choral Canada, la Hawaii International Conference on Arts and Humanities et le Symposium mondial sur la musique chorale en Espagne (2017), en Nouvelle-Zélande (2020) et au Portugal (2022).

Les enregistrements de Maestro Vallée ont été diffusés internationalement et comprennent Lux (ATMA, 2017), Requiem (ATMA, 2018 — requiems de Fauré et Duruflé) et Distance (ATMA, 2021). Ses engagements récents incluent des concerts à l'Académie de musique Liszt Ferenc de Budapest, une tournée avec le Chœur national du Canada et des concerts avec l'Orchestre symphonique de Québec, l'Orchestre symphonique de Toronto et le Chœur symphonique de Chicago. 

About

Écoutez

art deco background white.png
Komm, Jesu, Komm, BWV 229 - Johann Sebastian Bach
00:00 / 00:00
2840_Couverture_C3[96].jpg
Lux Aerterna - Edward Elgar
00:00 / 00:00
When the Violin - Reena Esmail
00:00 / 00:00
Laudibus in Sanctis - Uģis Prauliņš
00:00 / 00:00

Distance

art deco background white.png
Domine Jesu Christe - Maurice Duruflé
00:00 / 00:00
Requiem_edited.jpg
Libera me - Maurice Duruflé
00:00 / 00:00
Introit & Kyrie - Gabriel Fauré
00:00 / 00:00
In paradisum - Gabriel Fauré
00:00 / 00:00

Requiem

art deco background white.png
A Spotless Rose - Herbert Howells
00:00 / 00:00
2771_LUX_Cover_edited.jpg
O magnum mysterium - Morten Lauridsen
00:00 / 00:00
Seek Him that Maketh the Seven Stars - Jonathan Dove
00:00 / 00:00
Venite, Gaudete - Adrian Peacock
00:00 / 00:00

LUX

art deco background white.png
Alleluia - Randall Thompson
00:00 / 00:00
A-New-Heaven-cover_edited.jpg
Os Justi - Anton Bruckner
00:00 / 00:00
Selig Sind die Toten - Heinrich Schütz
00:00 / 00:00
Cantique de Jean Racine - Gabriel Fauré
00:00 / 00:00

A new heaven

Listen
art deco background white.png

Écrivez-moi

General Management

Henry Ingram | Managing Director
henry@deanartists.com  |  416-969-7300 x 304

Morgan Reid | Associate Artist Manager
morgan@deanartists.com  |  416-969-7300 x 303

DEAN-horizontal-logo-small-web.png

500A Bloor St W, Toronto, ON M5S 1Y3, Canada
Toronto: 416-969-7300  |  New York: 917-829-2911

Merci pour votre message!

Reach out
bottom of page

top of page
Jean-SebastienVallee-TamPhotography-9.jp

Jean-Sébastien Vallée

Conductor

Jean-Sébastien Vallée Announces the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir's 23.24 Season 

"Choral music is something that connects with the heart of our humanity, and I’m thrilled to present a bold and audacious 23/24 season that portrays the many facets of our human experience. From masterpieces that have captivated audiences for generations to newly commissioned works, from the grandeur of Roy Thomson Hall to the intimate setting of Jeanne Lamon Hall, I invite you to experience the passion of many voices!” 

Jean-Sébastien Vallée

 Artistic Director, Toronto Mendelssohn Choir

About

Jean-SebastienVallee-TamPhotography-8.jpg

Jean-Sébastien Vallée is a renowned Canadian-American conductor, scholar, and pedagogue known for his expertise in vocal, choral, and orchestral repertoires. With a career spanning over several decades, Vallée has conducted numerous ensembles across North America, Europe, and Asia, and has prepared choruses for some of the world's most prestigious orchestras including the Chicago and Toronto Symphony Orchestras, l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, and the National Arts Center Orchestra in Ottawa.

Currently serving as the Artistic Director of the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir, and Associate Professor of Music, Director of Choral Studies, and Coordinator of the Ensembles & Conducting Area at the Schulich School of Music of McGill University, Vallée is a sought-after conductor and pedagogue. He has previously served as the Director of Choral Studies at California State University, Los Angeles, and was on the choral faculty of the University of Redlands. Dr. Vallée holds degrees from Laval University, Sherbrooke University, the University of California, Santa Cruz, and a doctorate in conducting from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

 

Jean-Sébastien's passion for contemporary music is evident in his work, as he makes it a priority to premiere and commission works by young composers and program rarely performed repertoire. His research interests are varied and focus primarily on Renaissance French music, the oratorical works of Michael Tippett, and conducting pedagogy, more specifically the connection between audiation and gestural communication. Dr. Vallée was invited to present his research at several national and international conferences, including the American Choral Directors Association Conventions, Festival 500 in Newfoundland, the National Collegiate Choral Organization conference, Podium—the national convention of Choral Canada, the Hawaii International Conference on Arts and Humanities, and the World Symposium on Choral Music in Spain (2017), New Zealand (2020), and Portugal (2022).

 

Vallée's recordings have been broadcast internationally and include Lux (ATMA, 2017), Requiem (ATMA, 2018 – requiems by Fauré and Duruflé), and Distance (ATMA, 2021). His recent and upcoming engagements include concerts at the Liszt Ferenc Academy of Music in Budapest, a tour with the National Choir of Canada, and concerts with l’Orchestre symphonique de Québec.

About

Listen

art deco background white.png
Komm, Jesu, Komm, BWV 229 - Johann Sebastian Bach
00:00 / 00:00
2840_Couverture_C3[96].jpg
Lux Aerterna - Edward Elgar
00:00 / 00:00
When the Violin - Reena Esmail
00:00 / 00:00
Laudibus in Sanctis - Uģis Prauliņš
00:00 / 00:00

Distance

art deco background white.png
Domine Jesu Christe - Maurice Duruflé
00:00 / 00:00
Requiem_edited.jpg
Libera me - Maurice Duruflé
00:00 / 00:00
Introit & Kyrie - Gabriel Fauré
00:00 / 00:00
In paradisum - Gabriel Fauré
00:00 / 00:00

Requiem

art deco background white.png
A Spotless Rose - Herbert Howells
00:00 / 00:00
2771_LUX_Cover_edited.jpg
O magnum mysterium - Morten Lauridsen
00:00 / 00:00
Seek Him that Maketh the Seven Stars - Jonathan Dove
00:00 / 00:00
Venite, Gaudete - Adrian Peacock
00:00 / 00:00

LUX

art deco background white.png
Alleluia - Randall Thompson
00:00 / 00:00
A-New-Heaven-cover_edited.jpg
Os Justi - Anton Bruckner
00:00 / 00:00
Selig Sind die Toten - Heinrich Schütz
00:00 / 00:00
Cantique de Jean Racine - Gabriel Fauré
00:00 / 00:00

A new heaven

Listen
art deco background white.png

Reach out

General Management

Henry Ingram | Managing Director
henry@deanartists.com  |  416-969-7300 x 304

Morgan Reid | Associate Artist Manager
morgan@deanartists.com  |  416-969-7300 x 303

DEAN-horizontal-logo-small-web.png

500A Bloor St W, Toronto, ON M5S 1Y3, Canada
Toronto: 416-969-7300  |  New York: 917-829-2911

Thanks for submitting!

Reach out
bottom of page